2024 Awards Ceremony

Congratulations to our Annual Award Winners!

The Awards Banquet & Gala was held Saturday, April 13 at The Alloy, a DoubleTree by Hilton where we recognized those honored by the section for their contributions to the industry.


And the WINNERS are:


Merrill Buckley Jr. Student Project Award
Villanova University students Abaigeal Donoghue, Reade Hauge, Jacob Bruck, and Mark Lemley

Alan L. Kirsch Student Member Award
Jacob Grinshpun, Temple University

Chapter Award
Vehicular Technology Society (VTS), Brandon Swartley, P.E., Chapter Chair

Benjamin Franklin Key Award 3 Recipients
Jan Van der Spiegel, Ph.D., Professor, University of Pennsylvania, Dept. Electrical and Systems Engineering
Deep M. Jariwala, Ph.D., Associate Professor and the Peter & Susanne Armstrong Distinguished Scholar, Electrical and Systems Engineering and Materials Science and Engineering, University of Pennsylvania
Yu Wang, Ph.D., Professor and Director of Graduate Programs, Department of Computer and Information Sciences, Temple University

Corporate Technology Innovation Award
Comcast; Accepting Award: Dr. Danfeng Xie, Senior Machine Learning Engineer

Young Electrical Engineer of the Year
Yifan Li, Ph.D., Staff Engineer, InterDigital Communications, Inc.

Engineer of the Year 3 Recipients
Jiafeng Xie, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Villanova University
Christopher Zarcone, Distinguished Engineer, Comcast Corporation
Zhen Zhao, Ph.D., Vice President, Head of Global AI Engineering – Chubb, Adjunct Associate Professor, Temple University

Recognition of IEEE Fellows
Hong Chen, Ph.D., Principal Engineer, PJM Interconnection
Benjamin Lee, Ph.D., Professor, University of Pennsylvania, Department of Electrical and Systems Engineering, Department of Computer and Information Science

IEEE Philadelphia Section Sponsored 2023 – 2024 Future City
Great Valley Middle School, Malvern, PA


Thank you to our Sponsor!